BP Fitness Center

creating a culture of Fitness...

u Home




2016 Spring Table Tennis Tournament!

The tournament is underway! Please have a look at the bracket below. This will be a double elimination tournament. Anyone who loses in their first game will move into a 2nd bracket for their second game. Click on the name of your oponent to email and set up a game time you both agree upon.

Congratulations to advanced player champion Tariq Khan and begginer champion Hamid Jahangiri !


For questions or updates, contact Michelle at Michelle.Horvath@bp.com

Have fun!

Advanced Bracket 1

Jian Han
1 Eddie Chen
Eddie Chen 9 Jiaxi Zhang
21 Tariq Khan
Victor Amayo-bello    
5 Tariq khan    
Tariq Khan    
Deepak Ghimire 29 Deepak Ghimire
2 Deepak Ghimire    
Chris Lewis 10 Deepak Ghimire    
Mahmood Khayatian        
22 Deepak Ghimire    
6 Akshay Monikar    
Jackie Chang    
Anish Augustin 35 Deepak Ghimire
3 Jundong Lan  
Jundong Lan 11 Madhav Vyas  
Madhav Vyas      
23 Kenneth Ting  
Kenneth Ting      
7 Kenneth Ting      
Adil Anis      
Wilson Zeng¬† Kenneth Ting  
4 Raja Kanagaraj 30  
Raja Kanagaraj 12 Raja Kanagaraj  
Charles German      
24 Raja Kanagaraj  
Lance Raymond  
8 Lance Raymond  
John Abney  


Advanced Bracket 2

Jian Han Jiaxi Zhang Tariq Khan Kenneth Ting
13 Jundong Lan 25 Jiaxi Zhang   Tariq Khan  
Jundong Lan 17 Adil Anis   33     Tariq Khan
Adil Anis 31 Akshay Monikar   37  
Chris Lewis Akshay Monikar        
14 Chris Lewis 26 Akshay Monikar   Tariq Khan 38  
Charles German 18 Chris Lewis 36    
John Abney      
Anish Augustin Madhav Vyas Raja Kanagaraj Deepak Ghimire  
15 Eddie Chen 27 Madhav Vyas     39 Tariq Khan
Eddie Chen 19 Victor-Amayo-bello   34 Raja Kanagaraj  
Victor Amayo-Bello 32 Wilson Zeng  
Wilson Zeng Lance Raymond    
16 Wilson Zeng 28 Wilson Zeng Only if loser of 38 has not lost yet
Khayatian 20 Wilson Zeng
Jackie Chang


Beginner Bracket 1

Naresh Krishan
1 Mrugesh Wani
Mrugesh Wani    
5 Hamid Jahangiri  
Hamid Jahangiri    
2 Hamid Jahangiri    
Sushma Karnati    
8 Hamid Jahangiri
Ramakrishna Raju    
  Ramakrishna Raju  
Mahmoud Elgassier 6      
3 Mahmoud Elgassier   Ramakrishna Raju  
Don Adam      
Vivek Pradhan  
4 Vivek Pradhan    
Leo Williams  


Beginner Bracket 2

Ramakrishna Raju
Naresh Krishan Mahmoud Elgassier  
9   12 Mahmoud Elgassier  
Sushma Karnati 10 Naresh Krishan   15
Ramakrishna Raju      
14 Mahmoud Elgassier  
Leo Williams   16  
11 Mrugesh Wani      
Mrugesh Wani 13 Mrugesh Wani    
Vivek Pradhan Winner of Game 8¬†  
Only if loser of 16 has not lost yet



Basic Table Tennis rules

A match is played best 3 of 5 games (or 4/7 or 5/9). For each game, the first player to reach 11 points wins that game, however a game must be won by at least a two point margin.

A point is scored after each ball is put into play (not just when the server wins the point as in volleyball).

The edges of the table are part of the legal table surface, but not the sides.

Flow of the Match
Each player serves two points in a row and then switch server. However, if a score of 10-10 is reached in any game, then each server serves only one point and then the server is switched. After each game, the players switch side of the table. In the final game (ie 5th game), the players switch side again after either player reaches 5 points. Legal Service
The ball must rest on an open hand palm. Then it must be tossed up at least 6 inches and struck so the ball first bounces on the server's side and then the opponent's side.

If the serve is legal except that it touches the net, it is called a let serve. Let serves are not scored and are reserved.

The paddle should have a red and a black side. The ball should be either orange or white and 40 mm in size. The table should be 2.74 meters long, 1.525 m wide, and 0.76 m high.